Food

Maple Walnut Butter Tarts

buttertarts5I am not a patriotic person. Sure, I don’t like being mistaken for an American, but I’m not going to wear a maple leaf on my backpack. I only tell people I’m Canadian when they ask. I feel being Canadian doesn’t define me, and patriotism and nationalism can cause disharmony between people. I’m a big fan of working towards common global unity, all of us on the same team, you know?

That is, until Steffany and I broached the subject of Butter Tarts. These are not just mini-versions of your common southern pecan pie! They are so much more! Rich, sweet, flaky yet runny: really, butter tarts are a national treasure! Move over Loon, let’s replace the symbol on our one dollar coin with a butter tart.

Anyways, it’s been at least 2 years since I’ve had the pleasure of enjoying butter tarts, but when a friend offered me his gigantic bag of walnuts to bake with, I knew I had my excuse.

buttertarts1

With Steffany’s help, we whipped up a mean batch, and I have been in a sugar coma since. Obviously we had to make some adaptations, since we’re in Berlin, but I honestly couldn’t take the difference.

Recipe adapted from Canadian Living. I have included the German ingredient equivalent in italics.

Ingredients

Butter Tart Filling

  • 3/4 cup brown sugar (Brauner Zucker)
  • 1/2 cup maple syrup (Ahornsirup)
  • 1/3 cup melted butter (I used salted butter)
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 tbsp white wine vinegar
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 cup chopped walnut pieces (you could also substitute in some raisins or pecans, but I’m not a fan of these)

Sour Cream Pastry

  • 1 1/4 cups  white flour (Weizenmehl Type 405)
  • 1/2 cup of frozen salted butter
  • 2 tbsp cold water
  • 4 tsp sour cream

Making the Pastry

  1. Take your butter out of the freezer and grate it through a thick whole cheese grater. I find this much easier than working with a pastry knife or other utensils.
  2. Combine flour and grated butter in a large bowl. Mix sparingly with fingertips until it’s just combined.
  3. Whisk cold water and sour cream together, and then combine with pastry mixture.
  4. Shape dough into a disc, wrap in plastic wrap, and shove it in the fridge for 30 mins.
  5. 30 minutes later, roll the dough out on a floured surface till it is ~3mm thick, and using a cup, punch out some circles that are approximately 7-8cm diameter.
  6. Press these into muffin tins to form tart crusts and return them to the fridge for 30 mins.

buttertarts2

Filling

  1. Preheat the oven to 180°C.
  2. Crack those nuts! Once you have 1 cup of nuts, chop them up and pieces.
  3. In a bowl combine maple sirup, brown sugar, salt, melted butter, and eggs. Whisk to combine.
  4. Retrieve the muffins tins from the fridge and distribute walnut pieces evenly throughout each pastry cup.
  5. Ladle 2 tablespoons of filling liquid into each pastry cup.
  6. Bake for 20-25 mins.
  7. Resist eating these straight away for fear of burning your mouth. Exercise your will power and wait 20 mins.

Guten Appetit!!

buttertarts4

Leave a Reply

