Food · Recipe

Fast and Simple: Homemade Grape Juice

I recently came home from a trip to South America (yes, I am a very lucky girl), and I couldn’t get enough of the amount of fruit every visit to the super market or walk through the jungle.  And every morning I was lucky enough to have a wide variety of freshly squeezed fruit juices to choose from.  One of my favorites was the grape juice.  Fresh squeezed fruit juice is SO MUCH BETTER than any juice found in a carton in the super market aisle.  And no, you do not need the $700 juicers most people are acquiring in this present day FAD of juicing, just at $60 Magic Bullet works just fine, or even your $30 average blender.  This is the loving recipe my grandmother shared with me for grape juice, well not so much a recipe, just instructions on how to.

1) Use purple grapes, I find they taste the best when making juice.  I bought about 400 grams and it made 4 cups of juice.  Start by removing all the grapes from the vines and discard any rotten grapes.  Wash well and put in a pot with some water, enough to barely cover the grapes.  Bring to a boil for one to three minutes, just long enough for the grapes to just turn colour.

IMG_0878

2) Take all the grapes and water from the pot and let sit and cool, and then stick them in the magic bullet/blender and

IMG_0881

pulse them to mix and Presto!  Be careful to allow them to cool as heat and blending may lead to small explosions 🙂

IMG_0882

3) Obviously you have to strain the juice from the seed and skin mixture.  Once this is done, you have your juice to enjoy.  Add sugar if you wish to sweeten it up, but I find it fine without adding any.

IMG_0884 IMG_0883

This little path to natural juice happiness is fast and simple.  I follow it for making my own mango juice, and as a treat I will add milk rather than water.  Yummy! Or ice cream for a late night treat!  Enjoy.

-Kristina

One thought on “Fast and Simple: Homemade Grape Juice

  1. One of my favorite things from a recent trip to Istanbul was freshly squeezed orange and pomegranate juice. I’ve never tried fresh grape juice but may just have to now that I know how to make it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

