Crafts · Sewing

Make Birthday Cards with your Sewing Scraps

IMG_0792

Rumour has it that it’s been unseasonably warm and sunny in Berlin, but I wouldn’t know that, since I never go outside anymore. I feel like all I do is work and sew. The pressure is on, my wedding (part 2) is only 1 month away, so I’ve been sewing like crazy to finish my wedding decorations (more to come soon). But with all these crafts I produce a TON of scraps. I could toss them, but that does make me a bit sad. Those poor scraps never get to full-fill their fabric-purpose (kind of like those scraggly Christmas trees that only Charlie Brown appreciates). Well not anymore, I’ve figured out what to do with at least some of them –> Birthday Cards!

March is filled with birthdays within my groups of friends back home, I feel like my liver always takes a heavy hit celebrating every weekend. Not this year though, so if I can’t be there in person, hopefully a handmade card will offer some consolation.

This project should take you 5 minutes per card.
Materials:

IMG_0786

  • I made mine using my sewing machine, but I think it would also look great hand-stitched (perhaps it would look even better with a stronger contrast, next time I’ll try using embroidery floss).
  • Blank cards (I just buy large sheets of card stock and slice them up into card shapes)
  • fabric scraps
  • scissors
  • pencil and a black pen

Method:

  1. Assemble your scraps and check out your shapes. Any cool shapes pop-out to you? What inspirations do you get from the colours?
  2. Lightly sketch a quick design on your card in pencil (optional step), and then get cutting out your scraps. I did balloons and banners which were super easy to cut out. I also tried (and failed) at making a cake.
    IMG_0788
  3. Sew your fabric pieces onto your card. I didn’t use any pins or glue, for fear of wrecking my machine. The pieces didn’t slip off anywhere, just be sure it sew really slowly.
    IMG_0791
  4. Write something nice on the front if you want, I chose “Alles Gute Zum Geburtstag” which is essentially Happy Birthday in German, and then fill the card with well wishes!

IMG_0795

IMG_0800

Ta-da! I’m very happy with how these turned out! I think I’ll whip up a few more of these before I discard the rest of my scraps. It looks like a fabric tornado went through! Ah!

 

Happy Crafting!

3 thoughts on “Make Birthday Cards with your Sewing Scraps

Leave a Reply

