Food · Recipe · Save Money

Spicy Taco Mix!

spices4

MMMmmmmmm… tacos… How I miss thee! Although Germany is not totally void of all delicious Mexican food, it seems rather hard to find.

Technically you can buy all the taco supplies at the grocery stores here, but I’ll be honest, I find them sub-par. And also, rather expensive (by German food standards). So, in an attempt to save a few pennies, and improve my Mexican dinner experiences, I’ve made my own Taco Spice Mix!

taco-mix

Originally I planned on following this recipe from Allrecipes, but then messed up and bought Cayenne pepper instead of Chili Powder. Oops, these 2 ingredients are definitely not equally interchangeable. So after some alterations, and trial & error, a new Taco Mix Recipe was born. I’m assuming my version is a lot spicier than the original Allrecipes one.

This is quick and easy to assemble. Half of my spices were already in my pantry, while the other half I bought for 1 euro each from the spice stall at Maybachufer Turkish Market.

Ingredients

spices1

  • 1/4 cup cayenne pepper
  • 3 Tbsp garlic powder
  • 3 Tbsp onion powder
  • 2 1/2 tps crushed red pepper flakes
  • 2 1/2 tps dried oregano
  • 1 tbsp + 2 teaspoons paprika (scharf)
  • 1/4 cup + 2 Tbsp cumin
  • 3 Tbsp + 1 tsp salt
  • 3 Tbsp black pepper

Spice-2

Just mix everything together and store in an airtight jar! Ta-da!

spices3

Kristina & I gave this a try on Thursday and it was delicious. I can’t remember how many teaspoons we added… we just did it to taste… maybe 4-5 teaspoons per 500grams of ground meat (hackfleish) – {side note: might I recommend the “Gemischt Schwein und Rind Hackfleish”, it’s the best}. Also, I’m happy to report that the tacos tasted SOOOOO good that we couldn’t resist putting them down for even 1 minute in order to take a picture. Delicious!

Now, my taco experience has improved a ton, however, the next Mexican food item to tackle is the salsa. The store bought German salsas reminds me more of a tomato/pepper “jam” than salsa… all sweet and gooey. Things have got to change. Keep posted for my future attempts to make legit salsa!

Leave a Reply

