Crafts · Sewing

Review: Sonja Dress

Sonja4

Although we did have some scorchers in July, summer pretty much ended early/mid-August here in Berlin.  I feel like I’ve been robbed of 3-4 weeks of prime summer dress weather. In fact, there are some dresses that I didn’t even have a chance to wear once this year. How depressing.

However, that was not the case for the Sonja dress, since luckily I stated early in June and it only took me a weekend to make. You can grab your free copy of the Sonja dress patter (here) via BurdaStyle available from Salme Patterns. They’ve also got some other patterns available for purchase too, as well as some helpful tutorials. I think I would like to try the Buttonless Shirt Dress, or the Sleeveless Pleat Front Dress next.

I was a little hesitant about this dress at first, because I usually shy away from things with halter-style/high necklines, since I am a bit self-conscious about having broad shoulders. Nevertheless, I made this pattern anyways, and I’m so happy I did. 

Sonja3

According to my measurements, I should be a size 6, however after making the dress I needed to take a lot in on the chest. I took it in at least 1 inch along both sides at the side hem after the dress was finished, but still the dress does look a bit too baggy around my waist. I think next time I make this dress I will definitely make a size 4, and also enlarge the size of the darts to create a more fitted form.

Sonja2

I was planning on making another version on the Sonja Dress with the adjustments listed above, but since summer left us early, I think I’ll hold off until next year.  I think it would be really easy to make some cut-out alternations between the bodice and skirt to reproduce the Staring at Stars Zig Zag Dress from Urban Outfitters. Hopefully this cut-out trend will reoccur next summer as well.

Leave a Reply

