Uncategorized

Arrowhead Quilt

bed-1

I never make anything nice for myself. Sadly, I had to part with this amazing Arrowhead Quilt (pattern from Initial K Studio) last month! The pattern was really easy to follow and very basic, just HSTs and large rectangles – good for amateur sewers like me! I made the King sized version, which took about 3 months to complete. I ordered the fabric from the States, and picked it up in Boston while on a well timed trip. (Aside: has anyone found a source for Robert Kaufman Kona Cotton in Europe, because I would love to be able to order them without having to sacrifice 3 hours and an extra 20% at the Berlin tax office).

bed-3

This quilt was shipped to one of my best friends for her wedding, and I’ve only gotten positive feedback. I really want to make one for myself too eventually!

close-quilt

Quilting this beast was a real challenge! Even though I used a very thin cotton batting, it’s still a 2 meter quilt, and somehow I miraculously fit it through my small sewing machine. But it was a struggle! So instead of quilting it with 1/2 inch spaced lines as recommended, I did mine with 1 inch lines, saved me like 10 hours, oh yeah! I was finding it really hard to keep the lines straight, even with my walking foot guide, so I ended up drawing ALL of my straight lines in with a air-erase marker…… hours and hours and hours!!!! So brutal! I need to find a long-arm quilter next time!

I didn’t add any special pattern on the back, just plain white fabric. I only added a small note, wishing my bestie happiness and love!

jump-2jump-1

I’m pretty happy with how this turned out and am looking forward to making my own.

quilt-far

Leave a Reply

